running rich

Mopar related chat and bench racing

Moderator: Moderators

gmopar59

running rich

Post by gmopar59 »

Took her out yesterday for the 1st time in months except for running it through 1st and reverse at the garage. Noticed back at the garage that it there was carbon inside the tail pipes.Pulled the plugs, all look to be running clean except for some carbon on the back of the curved bit of 2 plugs (sure it has a proper name). Cleaned out the air filter and it's drying. Haven't started her today as it's my birthday and had to get back for lunch. Anything else i should take a look at? Thanks for your help. 340 small block.
gmopar59

Re: running rich

Post by gmopar59 »

BTW, what are the plug gaps on a 340?
Steve

Post by Steve »

I'm no expert at all and I'm sure the guys with tons of knowledge will be along soon but my first thoughts are to ask if the car was running ok and clean when you parked her up and were using her more? I doubt if anything has changed since you parked her up. I know the lockdown rules are in place at the moment. As soon as they are lifted, I would take her for a good run and see how things look after that. Just starting a car up and running it on idle on the driveway etc wont give you a good indication of what's going on.

If anything needs to be adjusted I would imagine it would be either timing, a stuck auto choke (if you have one) .or your idle mixture maybe. If you have an Edelbrock carb, easy check is to see if the metering rods are stuck. That can make the car run rich as I did with mine a few years ago.

Just a few very basic thoughts

Cheers Steve :thumbright:
Bat Girl Stalker Living Petes Dream
Steve

Post by Steve »

Forgot to say, I believe .035" plug gap is a pretty safe starting point on most Mopars that are stock or mildly tuned. Quick check online will tell you for sure
Steve

Post by Steve »