Pete's accident

News, jokes, computer help, whatever!

Moderator: Moderators

Anonymous

Pete's accident

Post by Anonymous »

Pete,

Have you drawn any conclusions as to what caused the crash ?

Now that there is a photo of the car 'on the wall' I didn't realise that you were so far down the track through the 'spill'. :shock:

I recall that you had posted about concerns with the car's stability some weeks earlier.

I have watched the YouTube videos of the car, earlier in the year and on the fateful weekend.

I am by no means an expert, but it looks as though the car was very keen to pick its front wheels up (possibly due to the heavy rake caused by the large rear tyres). It then tended to carry them but, at least on one video, drop them quite heavily causing a 'bounce' which seemed to unsettled it.

Any idea if the wheel drop was at a gear shift ?

The bounce then could have coincided with re-application of torque, further unsettling the car.

Plus, if as has been posted, there was a crosswind, especially from the left, you are out of the windbreak caused by the stands.

I think some serious analysis of your accident, perhaps based on your recollections (if you can recall any before the wild ride :) ) could help folk.

More and more cars are getting faster and faster.

A 12 second quarter is fast.

By the time you have hit 10s, you really are in a racing car not a street car, and as such, it would be beneficial to move drivers more on to a race car mindset, where such safety equipment as you had in the Dart; cage, good helmet, good suit, probably some form of fire protection, should be almost mandatory.

Perhaps peer pressure from within MMA would ensure that members do take measures to ensure their safety. And not just for cars that could be considered race cars.