Cortina MK3 V8 Mopar

Use this forum for all your builds in progress.

Moderator: Moderators

TIB3300
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 17 10:14 am
Location: Sheffield

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 MOPAR

Post by TIB3300 »

Blue wrote:
Fri Aug 28, 20 8:07 pm
Nice work, the master tucks nicely behind the servo.
yeh! a bit of luck with that, as i couldnt get any real dimetions.

I did look into getting a tilton Master cylinder, as all the dimetions are online.

If the land rover master stuck out too much and fouled on the servo, I was going to extend the servo bracket ;)

User avatar
Blue
Posts: 12844
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 04 11:29 pm
Location: Hertford, England, where the streets are paved with, erm, asphalt.....

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 MOPAR

Post by Blue »

Looks factory! Be prepared for the servo to only work intermittently if you fit a performance cam, as duration increases vacuum drops off sharply.
"Jesus died for somebody's sins but not mine"

TIB3300
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 17 10:14 am
Location: Sheffield

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 MOPAR

Post by TIB3300 »

Blue wrote:
Sat Aug 29, 20 9:15 am
Looks factory! Be prepared for the servo to only work intermittently if you fit a performance cam, as duration increases vacuum drops off sharply.

Now that I didnt know 8-[

User avatar
Pete
Posts: 20509
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 04 10:49 pm
Location: MMA Chairman

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 MOPAR

Post by Pete »

Oh, yes!

Big impact if you make less than 15" of Hg.

The worst aspect is you get one pump of servo power, and then it goes and hides in the corner until the vac builds up again - GREAT in traffic!

You play the "Guess what my brakes are going to do on the next application" game.... Stop, not stop, spin the bottle...
Pete Wiseman; Cambridge.

Mopar by the grace of God

TIB3300
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 17 10:14 am
Location: Sheffield

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 MOPAR

Post by TIB3300 »

Pete wrote:
Sat Aug 29, 20 10:44 am
Oh, yes!

Big impact if you make less than 15" of Hg.

The worst aspect is you get one pump of servo power, and then it goes and hides in the corner until the vac builds up again - GREAT in traffic!

You play the "Guess what my brakes are going to do on the next application" game.... Stop, not stop, spin the bottle...
Hmmm!!
I may have to look into this, see what I can come up with :-k

User avatar
Blue
Posts: 12844
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 04 11:29 pm
Location: Hertford, England, where the streets are paved with, erm, asphalt.....

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 MOPAR

Post by Blue »

It's no big deal, as no doubt you know a servo doesn't make your brakes any better it just lessens pedal effort. You can mitigate that to a certain extent by binning the servo and fitting a master cylinder of a different bore size. I'm not convinced by what I've read about Vacuum tanks and electric vacuum pumps being a good solution. Diesel Transits and no doubt other stuff use a vacuum pump driven off the back of the alternator which might do the trick. Me, I've been binning power steering and power brakes off my cars for the last 30 odd years...
"Jesus died for somebody's sins but not mine"

mygasser
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 17 10:36 am
Location: faversham, kent

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 MOPAR

Post by mygasser »

unless you're going with quite a lairy cam i wouldn't worry about vacuum loss. most mild cams have little if any noticeable effect on the brakes. what cam were you planning on using in the engine, that'll let you know. if the engine's not built yet it's easy to go with a milder cam now rather than have to re plan your brakes later. i mean, even a mild 318 in a cortina will be very quick no doubt so i wouldn't be going mad on the cam anyway. unless it'll be a strip only car.......
neil.

TIB3300
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 17 10:14 am
Location: Sheffield

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 MOPAR

Post by TIB3300 »

mygasser wrote:
Sat Aug 29, 20 10:22 pm
unless you're going with quite a lairy cam i wouldn't worry about vacuum loss. most mild cams have little if any noticeable effect on the brakes. what cam were you planning on using in the engine, that'll let you know. if the engine's not built yet it's easy to go with a milder cam now rather than have to re plan your brakes later. i mean, even a mild 318 in a cortina will be very quick no doubt so i wouldn't be going mad on the cam anyway. unless it'll be a strip only car.......
neil.
I dont reay know yet? As I dont know enough about cams yet :read2:

I would like a lumpy tickover, something like these.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qxSluqWKBsc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qs-DxfPyPeM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BLg1j0DXf9k

mygasser
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 17 10:36 am
Location: faversham, kent

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 Mopar

Post by mygasser »

so something like a comp cams thumper or a lunati voodoo then. drive nice (brakes inc') but rowdy idle.
neil.

TIB3300
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 17 10:14 am
Location: Sheffield

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 Mopar

Post by TIB3300 »

mygasser wrote:
Sun Aug 30, 20 7:59 pm
so something like a comp cams thumper or a lunati voodoo then. drive nice (brakes inc') but rowdy idle.
neil.
Yes I have seen those names bandeded around in some YouTube clips . :thumbright:

Is these anything I should look out for or avoid? ;)

mygasser
Posts: 484
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 17 10:36 am
Location: faversham, kent

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 Mopar

Post by mygasser »

don't go too mad on the 'highest performance' cam on the page when looking. you'll only be disappointed with the car on the road as it'll be flat as a turd in the normal everyday rev range and run out of cylinder head/valve spring/breathing etc at much above 5500-6000 rpm's.
they're designed so you don't need a really lairy cam to get a rowdy idle, best of both sort of deal if you like.
neil.

User avatar
kma176
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 15 8:18 pm
Location: Caterham - Surrey

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 Mopar

Post by kma176 »

mygasser wrote:
Sun Aug 30, 20 7:59 pm
so something like a comp cams thumper or a lunati voodoo then. drive nice (brakes inc') but rowdy idle.
neil.
I've got the Lunati Voodoo in my 340 stroker and very pleased - has enough lumpy idle so you know its got a cam and had no problem with Vac for the brakes I think it was the 723 but if your interested I will check the numbers !

TIB3300
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 17 10:14 am
Location: Sheffield

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 Mopar

Post by TIB3300 »

mygasser wrote:
Sat Sep 12, 20 3:33 pm
don't go too mad on the 'highest performance' cam on the page when looking. you'll only be disappointed with the car on the road as it'll be flat as a turd in the normal everyday rev range and run out of cylinder head/valve spring/breathing etc at much above 5500-6000 rpm's.
they're designed so you don't need a really lairy cam to get a rowdy idle, best of both sort of deal if you like.
neil.
Ok cheers,

I will ask on here firts befor letting any money go :thumbright:

TIB3300
Posts: 268
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 17 10:14 am
Location: Sheffield

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 Mopar

Post by TIB3300 »

kma176 wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 20 11:35 am
mygasser wrote:
Sun Aug 30, 20 7:59 pm
so something like a comp cams thumper or a lunati voodoo then. drive nice (brakes inc') but rowdy idle.
neil.
I've got the Lunati Voodoo in my 340 stroker and very pleased - has enough lumpy idle so you know its got a cam and had no problem with Vac for the brakes I think it was the 723 but if your interested I will check the numbers !
"Check the numbers "
Yes please if you could. :thumbright:

Dont suppose you could make a short vid of your tickover ? :lol:

User avatar
kma176
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 15 8:18 pm
Location: Caterham - Surrey

Re: Cortina MK3 V8 Mopar

Post by kma176 »

TIB3300 wrote:
Fri Sep 18, 20 11:13 am
kma176 wrote:
Wed Sep 16, 20 11:35 am
mygasser wrote:
Sun Aug 30, 20 7:59 pm
so something like a comp cams thumper or a lunati voodoo then. drive nice (brakes inc') but rowdy idle.
neil.
I've got the Lunati Voodoo in my 340 stroker and very pleased - has enough lumpy idle so you know its got a cam and had no problem with Vac for the brakes I think it was the 723 but if your interested I will check the numbers !
"Check the numbers "
Yes please if you could. :thumbright:

Dont suppose you could make a short vid of your tickover ? :lol:
The Cam is a 10200703 Voodoo - if you pm me your mobile number I can whats-app a video to you

Post Reply