wondering where the St Albans car is? restoration thread....

Use this forum for all your builds in progress.

Moderator: Moderators

Chargingatchya

wondering where the St Albans car is? restoration thread....

Post by Chargingatchya »

Hello wonderful Mopar community...

Well you guessed it... I brought the infamous St Albans car. Crazy ain't I?

Although I overpayed for this car (don't want to go in too much detail on price, but it wasn't nowhere near the 20k he wanted) it was within my budget for a project and a project is what I was after! maybe more of a project than id hoped for but she's home now and il do my best to do her justice.

A bit about me... Although I'm new to Mopars, I'm not new to Yanks. Iv owned and restored before (Firebirds mainly) and to be honest, Mopars seem easier to work with as the panels are a slightly thicker gauge steel (I believe, haven't measured but just by eye) and there's definitely easier accessibility. I am an electrical engineer by trade, and the electrics seem so much easier than anything I have worked on before. At least I have this in my corner.

Decoded by the wonderful Matt Hollingsworth, (who I can't possible praise enough, will post more about this on a separate post in due course) it is a 1969 Charger, 383 2BB, originally bright metallic green, white top special car. It is a column shift car, and it was well on its way to rotting away. I have inspected thoroughly and even had it running. It does sound awesome and I feel I have enough passion to restore her completely.