Torque converter bolts - thonkthonkthonk

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
morgan
Posts: 4071
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 05 7:22 pm
Location: Berkhamsted - Herts.

Torque converter bolts - thonkthonkthonk

Post by morgan »

Long story short, thonk thonk. Hmm whats that ? Remember MattH thread. Finally crawl under it and lo and behold - torque conv bolts, 2 of which are finger tight. Which is odd. I would have loctited and torqued... but hey; its likely the thonking.

Here's my question - how the heck did I get a torque wrench on there ? I've racked my brain but its lost in the fog. They need 75ft/lb according to ARP and I cant get a torque wrench and socket on there. Which begs the question how did I do it in the first place ? Anyone got any idea ? :?
"Cum homine de cane debeo congredi." Woof.

Current Charger status - "Working !"
User avatar
Pete
Posts: 21171
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 04 10:49 pm
Location: MMA Chairman

Re: Torque converter bolts - thonkthonkthonk

Post by Pete »

If you are keen you can take the sump off the engine to get clearance - I have had to do that on the Race car!

However, we made a tool up with a Socket welded to a spanner at a specific length to clear the sump, and then you reduce the Torque Wrench setting accordingly and that has worked quite well.

If not, then clean threads, Loctite and FT.

I have a set of long "Snap On" Spanners specifically for the job - after recommendation from Jim Chandler.

CAUTION: I have used them at the track and when I stripped the motor I found that I had tightened WAY over 80Ft/Lbs!!!
Pete Wiseman; Cambridge.

Mopar by the grace of God
User avatar
morgan
Posts: 4071
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 05 7:22 pm
Location: Berkhamsted - Herts.

Re: Torque converter bolts - thonkthonkthonk

Post by morgan »

Ah ! Maybe I did just FT then ( unlike me, but…)
Yes, I did consider sump but I have such a good seal currently I didn’t fancy it hahaha :)

Will try source one of the little extenders longer term but will re-FT for now.

Thanks !
"Cum homine de cane debeo congredi." Woof.

Current Charger status - "Working !"
User avatar
Pete
Posts: 21171
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 04 10:49 pm
Location: MMA Chairman

Re: Torque converter bolts - thonkthonkthonk

Post by Pete »

morgan wrote: Tue Jan 04, 22 8:08 am .......Will try source one of the little extenders longer term but will re-FT for now.
You can't buy one - you have to make it!

:read2: :read2: :read2: :read2: :working:
Pete Wiseman; Cambridge.

Mopar by the grace of God
User avatar
Dave999
Posts: 9053
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 05 10:31 am
Location: Twickenham,London, England

Re: Torque converter bolts - thonkthonkthonk

Post by Dave999 »

can you do somethig with a ring spanner a long tube and a spring balance like the ones they use to charge you more for you hand baggage on ryan air

75LB on a 1 foot spanner length
37.5 on a 2 foot
18.75 on a 4 foot tube

i have had reasonble success with a ring spanner wedged into the end of a pice of square tube from wikes or similar in the past?

bit of jacking and fannying about with each bolt at the bottom
hole drilled in the end of you tube for the spring balance
hole drilled in the other end "length of spanner deep" down the tube for a bolt right through so the open end can act on it
or vice versa use the ring on that end and the open end (on a decent spanner) for the bolts if they are hex...

if you have special half height 12 point or low button or cap head things this won't work

which ones is it flex plate to converter or flex plate to crank? 75 ftlb sounds like flex plate to crank.
i assumed flex plate to converter but arn't they just piddly little bolts? 75 seems a lot


Dave
David Gray. This year i am mainly In Twickenham, sometimes in Watford, often between the two but only between the hours of 07:00 -09:00 and 17:30-19:00
User avatar
Pete
Posts: 21171
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 04 10:49 pm
Location: MMA Chairman

Re: Torque converter bolts - thonkthonkthonk

Post by Pete »

Dave999 wrote: Wed Jan 05, 22 11:00 am 75 ftlb sounds like flex plate to crank.
i assumed flex plate to converter but arn't they just piddly little bolts? 75 seems a lot

Dave
Dave, this is a grown up installation. The Flex Plate bolts to Convertor come in 3 sizes.

The largest bolt between Flex Plate to Convertor takes a 3/4" Socket / Ring Spanner.

On My Hughes Convertor the specified Torque is 80 Ft/Lbs, the standard for the larger Bolts are 75 Ft/Lbs - as per Flex Plate to Crankshaft.
Pete Wiseman; Cambridge.

Mopar by the grace of God
User avatar
Dave999
Posts: 9053
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 05 10:31 am
Location: Twickenham,London, England

Re: Torque converter bolts - thonkthonkthonk

Post by Dave999 »

Lol
learn something new everyday
only converter i ever had was on a BW 35 :)

i think i kept the bolts... :) they looked nice

i have 4 speed and clutch bit more space can get a a cap head drive (why it came with them i don't know), its socket and the torque wrench in there...


Dave
David Gray. This year i am mainly In Twickenham, sometimes in Watford, often between the two but only between the hours of 07:00 -09:00 and 17:30-19:00
User avatar
morgan
Posts: 4071
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 05 7:22 pm
Location: Berkhamsted - Herts.

Re: Torque converter bolts - thonkthonkthonk

Post by morgan »

Pete wrote: Tue Jan 04, 22 5:14 pm
morgan wrote: Tue Jan 04, 22 8:08 am .......Will try source one of the little extenders longer term but will re-FT for now.
You can't buy one - you have to make it!

:read2: :read2: :read2: :read2: :working:
I meant one of these... But yes, making it or a crow foot might be easier !
Attachments
torque.jpg
torque.jpg (10.22 KiB) Viewed 114 times
"Cum homine de cane debeo congredi." Woof.

Current Charger status - "Working !"
User avatar
morgan
Posts: 4071
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 05 7:22 pm
Location: Berkhamsted - Herts.

Re: Torque converter bolts - thonkthonkthonk

Post by morgan »

Dave999 wrote: Wed Jan 05, 22 2:36 pm
i think i kept the bolts... :) they looked nice

i
You see I totally get that Dave. I keep all sorts of 'wont ever use it again' because it looks nice or was mechanically interesting... :D
"Cum homine de cane debeo congredi." Woof.

Current Charger status - "Working !"
Post Reply