Gav's 71 Challenger Convertible - Panther Pink, SB stroker

Use this forum for all your builds in progress.

Moderator: Moderators

MrNorm

Gav's 71 Challenger Convertible - Panther Pink, SB stroker

Post by MrNorm »

OK, this is a WELL overdue but about time I added my car…

It's a 1971 Challenger Convertible, I've owned (and driven!) it since 1985. (Hang on, I hear you say, you must have had this car when you were twelve!! :D)
Me and my friend Adrian (Red Barra-n) toured the US in 1985, doing drag races etc, and I went with a couple of grand (a loan right after I graduated!!) to buy a big block Challenger. We went to the Mopar Nationals (which was in Ann Arbor then!) but I couldn't find one at my price (even then!) so I returned to the UK to keep my eyes on Exchange & Mart!! Just a couple of months later a convertible appeared for sale, I could hardly believe my luck since a convertible Challenger was my ultimate car, but since they made so few I was expecting to get a hardtop. The price was right (it had a lot of rust) so it was mine!!
Here’s a pic around 1987 or so!
It was an original Slant 6 car, which at some stage had been tarted up somewhere down South (it was sold through Dowsett Motors in Portland). They had recovered the interior in cloth (good job), resprayed from original Hemi Orange to a BMW burgundy (yuk, plus loadsa bondo), and dropped in a 2bbl 360 from an Aussie CH Chrysler. BTW, if anyone has any more info on the early days that would be great to know, and/or any pics at all.
I figured it would be pretty easy to drop in a big block, though over the years later came to decide that a hot smallblock would be a nicer all round package, and a path less travelled.
I was still living with my parents so it sat outside in the road in all weathers - I recall brushing 3 inches of snow off it, and also getting snowed on as I lay underneath making a dual exhaust!